Bob Marley Birthday Tribute at S.O.B’s | February 2013

Bob Marley’s legacy continues to live on through his music and his children especially. On what would have been his 69th birthday, many celebrations were taking place all over the globe. I was fortunate enough to attend New York City’s SOB’s 22nd Annual Bob Marley Tribute featuring the Brooklyn based ‘New Kingston Band’.

I must say, I am a sucker for live music. There’s something about seeing musicians playing their instruments, singing with their natural voices, for a live studio audience.

His music continues to live on and inspire so many artists and musicians across various generations since his passing. His lyrics are quoted daily by thousands,  including my self. 

After listening New Kingston’s latest album on spotify, Kingston University, I can hear Bob Marley’s influence as well as Morgan Heritage, Dennis Brown and other prominent reggae icons.

If you haven’t gone to a Bob Marley tribute, I suggest you do. I doubt you will be disappointed.

Leave a comment